TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 11-12-2011, 09:58 AM   #1
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine
Default RV Tech Tips article on transmission temperature

http://rvtechtips.blogspot.com/2011/...mperature.html

Do you know your transmission temperature? My Explorer, rated at about 7000 pounds, has a big auxiliary transmission cooler as part of the tow package. It seems to be thermostatically controlled at about 180 degrees when driving with no load. When pulling the TM on the flats on a cool day, it will stay there. But it doesn't take much in the way of hills to get it to 190-195 degrees. I have an alarm set at 200 degrees, and I NEVER let it exceed 220 degrees, even for a minute, even when climbing the steepest hills on the hottest days at the highest altitudes.

I went through a transmission repair once, and it was a ghastly experience. I hope never to do it again.

Bill
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 06:09 PM   #2
ShrimpBurrito
Site Sponsor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill View Post
]I have an alarm set at 200 degrees, and I NEVER let it exceed 220 degrees, even for a minute, even when climbing the steepest hills on the hottest days at the highest altitudes.
What alarm do you use? OEM, inline, Scangauge, etc.?

Interestingly, I've been on this same subject in recent weeks. I also found this collection of reference images that is interesting:

http://kamperbob.com/images/TransTempChart.html

I have trying to ascertain whether the Scangauge will monitor ATF temps on our Sequoia. Most folks on the Toyota forum say they haven't gotten it to work (on late model Sequoias and Tundras) and when I contact Scangauge directly, they say it "probably will work", but oddly enough, it sounds like they have not tested it.