TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Solar Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 04-28-2022, 05:55 PM   #1
mikegascon1

Default Inverter wiring for solar

I am still at the thinking stage for solar. If I were to install a solar setup up, I would definitely want to install an inverter so my AC would work. How does that get wired in? To the power box under the shower? I assume they come with detailed instructions? I am not an electrical whiz bang and this is stumping me. I assume I am over thinking it and it is straight forward. Right?
Thanks

2007 3124
Vancouver, WA (close to Portland, OR)
Old 04-28-2022, 06:27 PM   #2
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine

Mike -

I am not an expert, but you will hear from the experts shortly.

The short answer is that the solar panels charge your batteries, and the batteries send DC power to the inverter. The inverter converts the DC power from the batteries to AC power, which is then used to power up the appliances and outlets. The air conditioner uses a rather enormous amount of power, so unless you have a LOT of batteries and a LOT of panels, running the AC may not be feasible.

As a quick benchmark, it is barely possible to run the air conditioner from a 2000 watt generator. Do you envision having well over 2000 watts of panels?

And now, over to the experts !!

Bill
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2022, 12:23 AM   #3
Wavery
TrailManor Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill View Post
Mike -

I am not an expert, but you will hear from the experts shortly.