TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > How to and Modifications
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 05-08-2002, 10:49 AM   #1
Chris_Bauer

Default Batteries/12V/Invertors

Hey guys,

I started a new thread so it would have a distinguishable subject.  I have a 2001 2720SL and would like to begin dry camping.  I am a novice (14 months) at both RVing and 12Vs and have a couple of questions (maybe this doesn't belong under "tips and tricks&quot:

1) How do I accomodate two batteries, can they be stacked to save on storage room?

2) What is the best battery, taking into consideration the space, weight, durability, stacking if possible, etc?

3) How reliable is the monitor panel for the battery?

4) Using only the lights (I have changed the bulbs to a smaller size) and the TV occasionally, is it really necessary to add another battery for a 3 or 4 day trip?

I recently returned from a trip and the battery wouldn't hold its charge at all.  In fact, the battery was pretty well drained by the time I got setup.  What could the possible problem be.

Thanks for your help and advice.
Old 05-09-2002, 03:46 AM   #2
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine
Default Re: Batteries/12V/Invertors

Some thoughts in response to your questions.

1.  Stacking: I'm not sure I would stack the batteries. That is a pretty heavy load on a small piece of floor - and most of the floor beneath the battery box has been cut away. If I recall correctly, the inner floor and the foam core have been removed, and the battery box sits directly on the outer skin. I would put the second battery at the other end of the compartment, in its own box, well strapped down so it won't slide.