TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Electrical
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 08-09-2019, 02:55 PM   #1
Peterbug

Default DayTripper Charging and Battery Box flexibility

Design idea: use two light 100ah LiFePo batteries, each in its own box, charged by DC to DC charger in TV cabin on daytrips. Quick swap of the two battery boxes as needed. Light Battery Boxes make for many portable uses, including as a ‘jump box’ with the right dongle, and also for setting up solar charging in sunny spot many meters from shaded camper. Using rugged Anderson quick connectors, the system can be made portable and flexible for many configurations to optimize for differing camping situations.
I'm not an electrician, and I welcome any suggestions and (importantly!) corrections.
Battery:
I built a 100 ah Lithium Phosphate battery with 8 cells (4S2P configuration using 50ah cells from ebay, as inspired by Will Prowse videos on Youtube).
Battery Box design is inspired by Kickass Battery Box as seen at: , however, I chose to keep the Dc to Dc charger on a separate portable board, with plug-n-play dongles wired into the charger as seen in the pictures and video at: https://www.australiandirect.com.au/...DCDC25A-AND-WK
Battery box will easily connect to various sources for both charging and supplying power. I chose a standard large battery box from Autozone, with the largeness more for housing internal wiring and busbars than for the LiFePo battery. Being portable, I needed easy connectors with robust resistance to repeated use and safety, so I chose the gray Anderson Plug as shown in the above Kickass video, and found at: https://www.amazon.com/Anderson-Powe...X1THYY31A6ADBR