TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 10-25-2014, 12:39 AM   #1
Burquena

Default Need Advice on WDH for 2720SL

I just recently purchased a 2008 2720SL - thanks to all of you on this forum (where I have been lurking!) I felt well prepared to make the leap! I am a real newbie, and I have tried to research the WDH issue and I feel like I now have so much information I am more confused than ever!
I am towing with a Dodge Dakota 4.7L v8, TM has A/C, no other major additions, although I'd like to add solar in the future. When I carry my inflatable boat, outboard, etc. it is stored in front of the rear axle in the truck bed, but now that I will need to carry water for the TM, it will be farther back and will add to tongue weight (correct?). I have not been able to take it to a scale yet, but would guess it will come in close to what others here have posted.
My question: if I go with a WDH at 1000# over one at 800#, will it be too much when I tow without the additional weight? (When not going to the lakes, that is). I am concerned about the ride being too stiff as mentioned in some of the posts.
Thank you!
Curt 600-800# WDH
Prodigy Brake Controller
15" load D tires
SeaEagle 124 SMB with Tohatsu 6HP outboard
65 lb Golden Retriever Cross
Burquena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 05:30 AM   #2
scrubjaysnest
TrailManor Master

Either will work fine, both are used by forum members with no problems. I wouldn't recommend traveling with water if you can avoid it. That will greatly reduce anything else you can carry. Water is 8.3 pounds times 26 gallons or 215.8 lbs if you fill the hot water tank. Plus another 3 gals in toilet all of which is on the same side of the camper. Then add in the weight of the battery on the same side. It gets even worse if you have the optional 40 gal tank