TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Electrical
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 10-03-2010, 12:11 AM   #1
Goodyear Travels

Default Steps in Rejetting Yamaha EF2400if Generator

Rejetting this generator is very simple and it should take less than 15 minutes if your tools are set out.
My share is as a DIY'er and I am not a mechanic by trade. This is what has worked for me in rejetting but I cannot take responsibilty for others' health, safety, or equipment.
The steps seem involved but they should be really easy to follow. The first time you change jets it will take about 45 minutes. One or two more changes and you'll be doing it more quickly than I can.

The 4k-7k ft jet's Yamaha Part # is 1HX-1423E-32 and the +7k ft jet's # is 1HX-1423E-30. I am ususally switching between the sea level and the +7k ft jet because of where we like to camp.

1. Work in a well-ventilated area and have a fire extinguisher close at hand.
2. Shut off the fuel to the engine (next to the choke) on the generator's front cover.
3. Remove the (2) phillips screws on the bottom of the back panel. There are (2) plastic tabs on the top of the cover and (2) additional clips on the side that help secure the cover.
4. When the cover is removed you'll see the engine (OHV), then the carb, and then the black plastic box on the right that houses the air filter. (see photo 1)
5. The float bowl is on the bottom of the carb. Open the springed screw at the bottom of the aluminum bowl -- to drain the contents of the bowl through the clear tubing into a small container that is resistant to gasoline for safe disposal. There is still a small of amount of gas in the bowl -- so keep a rag or paper towel handy for later. (see photo 2)
6. The (2) black screws that secure the black, air box cover are difficult to access. I have used either a right angled, phillips screw driver or a small ratchet with phillips-head bit.