TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 07-18-2006, 05:41 PM   #1
BayouBoy

Default Chevy V6 4.3L tow Vehicle

I Have Chevy Silerado 2WD 4.3L V6 Reg Cab Short Bed (6.5"ft) w/ a 5000# tow rating. Because I have a 3.23 axle ratio, my tow rating is reduced to 3500-4000#. This info is from an online towing calculator.

I'm new to Trailering heavy loads and would like some towing advise w/ this set up.

Thanks
Old 07-18-2006, 08:13 PM   #2
fcatwo
Site Sponsor

Your Siverado should be a stable towing platform within reason but you didn't say whether you have a towing package or which transmission you have. A towing package will give you a bigger radiator, auxillary transmission cooler and engine oil cooler plus the hitch receiver and trailer wiring. Chevy used to mate the Silverado 4.3 with the same light-duty transmissions they used in their smaller S-10 trucks and yours may be the same. The 3.23 means you can forget overdrive for towing even the lightest TM and you'll probably be in an AT's 2nd gear much of the time on climbs. A good heavy duty transmission cooler is in order if you have an AT but many people here are towing TMs successfully with similar power in smaller and lighter TVs. If it's in good condition I wouldn't hesitate to tow a TM with it but I'd stay near the 3500lb weight limit and even at that expect slow going in the hills. Just my $0.02
fcatwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 02:11 PM   #3
BayouBoy