TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 09-17-2015, 08:57 AM   #1
Shane826
TrailManor Master

Default Help outfitting my Envoy for towing

Hello-

I'm in the market for a used TrailManor. We are looking at the 3124KB & KS, or 3326 King. My daily driver and soon-to-be tow vehicle is a 2004 GMC Envoy XUV (same length as the XL) with a 5.3 V8 and 3.73 gearing. I need some recommendations for towing equipment...

Transmission Cooler: I really like the PCMofNC kit. Stacked plate cooler with stainless steel lines that connect to the original lines. No cutting the original lines, no rubber hoses & clamps. It's a bit pricey but a whole lot cheaper than burning up the transmission! Anyone seen another kit like this for less?

http://www.pcmofnc.com/index.php/per...mission-cooler

Transmission Temp Gauge: I currently have a SnapOn Solus scan tool (I'm a master mechanic and GM & Ford factory trained technician) that I can view trans temp, gear, and TCC lockup %. But it's a BRICK. Does anyone have any experience with and recommend one of those dongles that plugs into the OBD port and sends info to your phone? A buddy of mine has one but its for Android and I have an iPhone 5...

Brake controller: I've looked at these but I don't understand how they work so can't really compare them. Time vs inertia braking? I would also like one I could mount with plastic Velcro on the dash as opposed to down low. I'm 6'5" and constantly smash my knee when I get inand out of a vehicle that has a controller installed. Suggestions? Anyone care to explain pros & cons of the different styles?