TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Frame
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 12-19-2007, 11:52 PM   #1
ShrimpBurrito
Site Sponsor

Default Safety chains - choices, choices, choices

Howdy folks -

The safety chains on my TM are now almost all covered with rust, so upon reading a very unpleasant article in the LA Times about trailer accidents, I am inspired to replace them. As I took a closer look at them, I really was surprised at how small they are. Identically sized chain at the hardware store (although not sold as safety chain for trailers) said the max load was 750 lbs. I realize the chains don't have to be strong enough to lift the trailer off the ground, and thus don't need to have a 3,500 lb capacity, but 750 lbs just doesn't seem like alot to sustain a violent separation of the trailer. But I'm not a mechanical engineer, so I don't know. The 3/8" bolt seemed a little thin also...granted it's grade 5, but still. Could be bigger and grade 8. I admit I'm a fan of slight overkill.

Anyway, the store also had a pair of cables that had a 5,000 lb rating. But according to the package, the 2 chains are designed to be connected independently from each other, unlike the OEM chain which just has the middle link bolted to the tongue. The cable is maybe 3/8" in diameter, maybe a little bigger with a steel ring inside the loop designed to be attached to the trailer. I could get a long grade 8 bolt and bolt the loops to where the chain was attached, but then they wouldn't be connected independently.

I believe new TM's are outfitted with cables instead of chains. How/where are they connected on the tongue?