TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 08-17-2015, 08:08 PM   #1
Padgett
TrailManor Master

Default Tow-Tuff

Anyone have any experience with a Tow-Tuff Multidirectional Travel Jack ? Will it work on a sandy but flat lawn ? If it works could be an alternative to a lawn tractor. Do not need to go far or fast.
Old 08-18-2015, 06:42 AM   #2
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine

Padgett -

I have no experience with it, and don't plan to. It looks like an interesting product. My comments below are based solely on the materail on the web site in your link.
1. The dual wheels look like a good choice. Much better than a single hard wheel on sand/dirt/gravel.
2. The video says it will handle a 1500-pound tongue load. The printed specs say 500. Consistency would be nice.
3. User reviews are generally awful. Tongue loads well under 500 pounds caused it to collapse for several users.
4. It weighs around 50 pounds - more than I would want to mount permanently on the already-heavy tongue of my TM. Since the primary use would be around home, it is too bad it is not detachable.
5. The pictures and video show a trailer without any WDH snap-up brackets that I can see. Good thing - the unit would be in the way of these brackets. Same observation for a swing hitch, if your trailer has one.

This unit appears to be identical to the Trailer Valet that we have reviewed earlier on this board, though the Trailer Valet is somewhat more expensive.

For your situation (flat sandy lawn), it would seem easy to put down length of plywood as a temporary "highway", and use the hitch wheel that came with the TM. I do that with my boat trailer, and it helps a lot. That doesn't provide the hand-cranked drive capability, of course.

Just my observations.

Bill
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 09:04 AM   #3
Padgett