TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 07-15-2017, 05:53 AM   #1
pmhellings
Site Sponsor

Default Tacoma Towing

Hi All,

I have been towing my TM with my 2013 Tacoma 4x4 for about 2000 miles now and wanted to give the forum some feedback.

The Tacoma V6 has ample power for towing on interstates easily managing the 65 mph which is my self imposed limit. On hilly highways, particularly West Virginia and western Pennsylvania (so far) I have to down shift early to maintain speed. My truck is a 6 speed manual and it's not unusual to have to drop down to 4th on a steep grade.

For low speed maneuvering, like backing the TM into a campsite, I always go to low range 4x4. It makes it so much easier to s l o w l y back in to my spot.

Late model Tacomas are known for sagging under hitch ( or cargo ) weight. I considered a weight distributing hitch but opted for airbags because:
1. I tow a variety of trailers, all with different tongue weights and characteristics. To adapt a WDH to each would be unreasonably complex.
2. I use my truck like a truck when it isn't towing. 1,000 lbs. in the bed sets it down unacceptably far. It's nice to be able to level the truck in any situation.
3. The WDH that the previous owner had made it very difficult to open and close the couch pull out and to access the propane bottles.

The air bags cost about $350 and I installed them myself. It took about 6 hours to do the job. The TM tows very straight and solid with 40 lbs. of air in each side.