TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 03-12-2007, 12:01 PM   #1
P M Owl

Default TM wannabe, with tow rig question

I've been salivating over prospective TM ownership for about 2 years; just recently made the jump from a Jayco Eagle 10 to a Hi Lo 1706 (another story for another thread). My TV is a 2000 Dakota Quad Cab 4WD with 4.7 V8, 5-speed manual, 3.92 limited-slip, full factory tow package & heavy duty support group.

Tow rating info I previously gleaned from the TM website listed my rating in the 5900-6000 lbs range. The tow rating info currently available from the website shows a range of about 4900-5100 lbs.

I just recently discovered your forum, and, like many others, am duly impressed with the knowledge & willingness to help in residence here.

Does anybody out there have an answer to this apparent inconsistency??

Gary
Old 03-12-2007, 01:50 PM   #2
P M Owl

LOL . . . . . . . Leon, you didn't disappoint me with the reaction to the Jayco / Hi Lo exchange!! It was a combination of a burning desire to upgrade from the tent trailer without sacrificing the road manners of a low profile rig. Economics played a large part, too (not finding the TM I wanted for the $'s I was willing to spend). Then, factor in finding such a "screamin' deal" that I figure to use the Hi Lo for 2-3 years & be able to sell it for what I paid (and then be likely to find the desired TM for the desired $ outlay).
We are close to retirement date, & unwilling to finance a new TM until we see how the retirement income cash flow works for a while.

No luck (so far) on the Dodge website, and my experience has been that dealerships are spectacularly ignorant of specification info (I usually know much more than any salesperson I can find).
Old 03-12-2007, 04:05 PM   #3
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine