TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 02-21-2006, 02:41 PM   #1
boomin

Question Ford Ranger as TV

I am a newbie at trailer camping, have not even towed anything yet. We are looking at the TM's. We have a 1996 Ranger ExCab with the 4.0 V-6 and 4 speed auto. What would I need to add to my pick-up to tow say a 2619 or 2700 TM?
Old 02-21-2006, 03:03 PM   #2

Default Ranger TV

A V8. Seriously, you would need a tow package which would include a class III receiver hitch, trailer wiring which would include a brake hookup. An electronic brake controller wired into the system and mounted on the dash. You probably need an extra transmission cooler. Your Ranger would be OK in most of the South and Eastern states though you would notice some strain in the mountains. It would be much more strained in the western mountains, but I think it would work if you were patient and don't load the TM or the TV down too much.
Old 02-21-2006, 03:40 PM   #3
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine

Boomin' -

What does Ford give as a towing rating for this vehicle? The Rangers were pretty small back then. I have a '98 Ranger, and granted it has only the inline 4 cylinder engine and five-speed manual transmission, but its tow rating is ZERO - as in nothing! (Strangely enough, it came with a step-and-tow bumper.)

There is more than engine to consider. If your vehicle is too light (as in weight) or too short (as in wheelbase), the trailer will push it all around the road. My Ranger is much too light, much too small, and much too underpowered and undertorqued, to tow anything more than a small utility trailer. Listen to DeanBilly, look up your tow ratings (should be in the owner's manual), and see where you fall.

I find the following post on another forum:
Quote:
The Ford specs for the [1999] Ranger with a 4.0L V6 are: