TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Electrical
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 09-22-2021, 02:35 PM   #1
Kmikesell
TrailManor Master

Smile Lighting troubles

Howdy folks....Fist time posting.

We are the proud owners of a new (to us) 2006 TM 2720 SL. She is in pretty good shape and I have been sprucing her up a bit. Although I am new to a TM I am no neophyte. I have owned three pop up trailers, so I know my way around a little.

Q: I was trading out all of the 1141 bulbs for LEDs and I noticed that the two lights that are under the from storage cabinets were not working. I looked at the wiring diagram in the "Owners Manual" and see that they are on their own circuit with a switch at the front vent. All seems well and good, any ideas where a ground might be?

Any help would be appreciated .
DH/DW 2018 Ford F-150
North Utah
Kmikesell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 04:06 PM   #2
ShrimpBurrito
Site Sponsor

I don't know offhand where the ground is, but I will say that I have had problems with the light switches in the front shell corroding a bit, such that, when closed, they don't make sufficient continuity. This is more of an issue with LEDs than the incandescent bulbs because the LEDs draw so much less current, and so the resistance in the corroded switch is sometimes enough to not power an LED at all, but an incandescent will seem fine.

So you might check the voltage before the switch. If there's voltage there but not the socket, the switch is at fault.

Dave
ShrimpBurrito is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 04:38 PM   #3
Kwantau
Site Sponsor

Make sure that the switch located in the right hand vent as you face the front of the TM. It is a small switch that puts power to both of the lights. Mine switch is black in color and right on the forward inside edge of the vent. Hope that fixes your problem. It is a common problem that newbies have. Good luck.