TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Interior
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 08-15-2012, 08:12 AM   #1
tonysenes

Default Replacing Wood Wall Around Street Side Window 2518

Hi All -

Newbie here - just purchased a 99 2518. Its been great so far as I learn the camper.

The wood in the wall on the street side window is pretty corroded. The previous owner left the window open in storage for a bit, and it has separated from the panel behind it (masonite?) The more I pull up the wall paper more I expose rotted wood. Its not terrible, but it will need replacing.

I'd rather replace it all without going through taking the top clamshell off. I think I can get away with patching it. What are your suggestions on this? Can I cover it with more masonite paneling? What is the purpose of the wood there anyway? I've seen what Happy Trails did, but I really really don't think I need to go that far. The masonite of the "sandwich" behind the rotted wood seems fine and solid to me - its just that wall papered section surrounding the window that needs work.

Tony
Old 08-15-2012, 09:44 AM   #2
tonysenes

OK. Just got annoyed looking at it and removed the entire wood section of the wall. It looks like it was just decorative - only installed to give the wall paper something to adhere to?

Anyway, I'm glad its gone. It exposed a big window leak behind it. Is there any issue with just leaving the wall as masonite and not replacing it??

Tony
Old 08-15-2012, 07:59 PM   #3
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine

Tony -

I don't now anything about a model of the age of yours, except that the walls are most likely framed with wood. And if the wood is wet, it is rotting/rotten. And that is not good. I would suggest that you remove all the screws along the outside bottom edge of the shell, pull off the metal strip, and see what you see inside the wall.