TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 12-19-2011, 10:03 PM   #1
sleepyslo

Default Okay to mount L-Brackets forward of of swing tongue hitch

Is the swing tongue durable enough to allow me to mount the L-Brackets for my E2 WDH hitch's spring bars in front of the hinge or must they be mounted behind it?

I hope this makes sense, I'm a little new to this. Let me know what you guys think.
Old 12-20-2011, 04:52 AM   #2
scrubjaysnest
TrailManor Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepyslo View Post
Is the swing tongue durable enough to allow me to mount the L-Brackets for my E2 WDH hitch's spring bars in front of the hinge or must they be mounted behind it?

I hope this makes sense, I'm a little new to this. Let me know what you guys think.
I don't trust the swing hitch at all, there have been very few failures reported. But you might create one that has been reported.
My brackets are behind the swing hitch pivot points. This required modifying the street side spring bar as it wasn't long enough. I have an older Reese WDH.
You can search for more info under WDH on the site.

mods: 2- 100 watt solar panels, on roof, 300 watts portable

“They who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.” Benjamin Franklin
scrubjaysnest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 07:11 AM   #3
ottfour

Mine too are mounted behind the swing hitch pivot points but no modifications had to be made to the bars. I agree that mounting in front of the pivot points could possibly be unsafe.
Old 12-20-2011, 09:25 AM   #4
Barb&Tim
TrailManor Master

Just one more opinion: