TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Owners Community > General TrailManor Topics
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 09-07-2003, 07:55 AM   #1
jgilliam1955

Default 2002 Ford Explorer with V8 question

8)I am picking up my 2004 TM 2619 Sat. (Finally) My 2002 For Explorer
came with a V8 & towpackage. ( Class 3 hitch) Will I need a W.D. Hitch?
Old 09-07-2003, 09:26 AM   #2
Windbreaker

Default Re:2002 Ford Explorer with V8 question

I can't say for sure but a buddy of mine runs that combo and he said he would never try pulling without one. Hope that helps.

What does the book say it will take? If it says something more than 500# maybe not, just try it and see.
Old 09-07-2003, 10:31 AM   #3
Happytrails

I would say, and I'm by no means an expert on it, lol, I just stayed at a Holliday Inn.......If the rear end of your Explorer dips more than 2 inches when applying the extra weight, you DO need one, besides, just having the peace of mind means a lot to most people...........Just my .02

[glow=red,2,300]Happytrails......[/glow]
Old 09-07-2003, 12:26 PM   #4
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine

The answer is Yes, you need a WD hitch.

If you don't use a weight-distributing hitch, your vehicle is rated to tow 5000 pounds with a 500-pound max tongue weight. Your 2619 will weigh somewhere around 3200-3300 pounds when you are ready to hit the road, so you have a bit of margin there. However, the tongue weight will be 425-450 pounds, so you have almost no margin here. If you put stuff in the way-back of the Explorer, you will eat up this margin and more.