TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Electrical
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 10-25-2022, 01:38 PM   #1
johnbill2720QS

Default disconnecting battery for multi-month storage

A real newbie here. We have 2720. We bought it in 2021 From Scott in Hawaiian Gardens, wonderful support.
We have had a few things get in the way of taking any long-distance trips. I park the unit in the garage with the help of a neighbor and a Trailer Valet.

Do I need to disconnect the battery or install a kill switch? I imagine we would be connected to our tow vehicle, a Ranger, for at least 3 hours before we would arrive at any destination we are likely to visit on this battery, which is whatever the factory supplied.
johnbill2720QS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2022, 02:13 PM   #2
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine

You have some options.

TrailManors, like all RVs, have a number of small parasitic loads (electricity users) that are permanently connected. In 7-10 days, these loads will cause significant (but not fatal) discharge of your battery. This depends, of course, on the size of your battery and its initial charge state, and it assumes that all the switchable loads - lights, appliances, etc - are turned off. So your first option: if you are going to leave the TM sitting for only a couple days, don't worry about it.