TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Electrical
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 06-22-2008, 08:05 PM   #1
SigurdHoy

Default Brake controller, Connecting harness, Two batteries?

I am new to this! - I have a 2009 TM2619 on order to be towed by a 2004 Sienna AWD van. I am having the hitch and transmission cooler installer on the van. Probably should have heavy duty turn signal relays installed as well. - My first question is what kind of brake controller would be recommended and how is the brake controller connected to the Sienna and/or installed in the Sienna. Would a heavy duty wire from the van to the TM battery as part of the connecting harness make sense?. - Would two batteries make sense? If so, is there room for two batteries? ----- SORRY ABOUT THE COMPOUND QUESTION. (I have a lot of questions floating though my mind in connection with this new venture!)
Old 06-22-2008, 10:01 PM   #2
ShrimpBurrito
Site Sponsor

Quote:
Originally Posted by SigurdHoy View Post
what kind of brake controller would be recommended and how is the brake controller connected to the Sienna and/or installed in the Sienna.
I think many here use the Tekonsha Prodigy, and is well regarded. I use a slighty more feature laden variation called the Tekonsha P3...works the same, but has a fancy screen, voltage readout, etc. Check your Sienna owners manual -- installation may be as easy as plugging up an extra harness, which you have to buy separate from the controller and specifically for your vehicle. Otherwise, you'll have to do some wiring.

Quote:
Would a heavy duty wire from the van to the TM battery as part of the connecting harness make sense?[/B].