TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > How to and Modifications
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 04-13-2003, 12:55 PM   #1

Default Toilet Paper - To flush or not??

I'm a little embarassed to be asking this question  :-[ but our friends (who do not have a TM) told us that we should put a little garbage can in the bathroom for 'used' toilet paper.  They said flushing the paper gums up the sewer line, the filter, etc., and makes it a bear to clean.  And that we should empty the garbage can every day to remove 'odor' and unsightly paper.

This sounded a little odd to us, and I smiled at my hubby and said I'd ask all of you first . . . we're heading out for our very first camping trip next weekend 4/18.

Is it okay to flush the paper?   :P

Thanks for your help, again!!!  
Old 04-13-2003, 01:27 PM   #2

Default Re: Toilet Paper - To flush or not??

I have been camping in my TM for two years now, with my wife and two daughters, and have never had a problem with flushing toilet paper. A couple of things I would like to say, though, may help out. As with any septic system, I would try to always use a paper that degrades weel. One that I use is Scott brand. I have found that the thick, extra absorbant (and more comfy) paper like Charmin tends to clog more because it doesn't break down as easy. I have had more problems with my home septic using charmin then the TM. The solution your friends gave you tells me that they are probably around my grandparents age and have been on a septic tank since a young age. My grandmother still places a can in her bathroom at home for toilet tissue. I never have been able to deposit my paper in it though. I am glad she doesn't use computers, so she can't read my last remark. Happy camping
Old 04-13-2003, 02:45 PM   #3
Gene