TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 07-12-2008, 07:21 PM   #1
SigurdHoy

Default Hitch height

I am new to this and our 2619 is about to come off the line at the factory. What is the correct hitch height to the top of the ball on my Sienna van?
Old 07-12-2008, 08:09 PM   #2
Scott O

You adjust the ball on the Sienna to match the hitch height on the trailer when the trailer is level front to back. The type of tow vehicle really doesn't matter. Get an adjustable ball mount for your Sienna so you can move it up or down as needed. Your dealer should be able to give you the correct ball height, but ours is somewhere around 19 1/2" if memory serves correctly. A search on this forum should yield some useful results...
Old 07-13-2008, 08:11 AM   #3
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott O View Post
You adjust the ball on the Sienna to match the hitch height on the trailer when the trailer is level front to back.
Of course, this means level after the tongue weight is on the ball and the spring bars are raised. If you set it level before the coupler is dropped onto the ball, then the vehicle will squat when the load is put on, and the TM will no longer be level. Different vehicles will squat by different amounts, of course, depending on the softness of the suspension. Previous advice (not mine) is to set the ball initially about an inch above the unhitched level. You may have to adjust the ball height once more, but with an adjustable ballmount, that is a minor thing to do.

Bill
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 06:53 PM   #4
P and B