TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 07-26-2009, 07:38 PM   #1
Philip

Default What are people using to tow a 2720 Trailmanor(3100 lb. dry)

Hello folks,

I am in the process of purchasing a Trailmanor 2720 model(approx. 3100 lb. dry). I will also be purchasing a tow vehicle, with the factory tow package, for this unit.

Since I have no practical experience selecting a tow vehicle, I wonder if owners of 2720 models could give me an idea of what they use to tow their 2720 models and how satisfied they are with the tow vehicle performance. I will be towing the unit out west while traveling through the National Parks. We will be spending extended time in the parks - perhaps the better part of a summer season.

My quandry is that I would really like to get a tow vehicle that is the most fuel efficient as possible that can also handle the job. Most of the fuel efficient tow vehicles are V6's (SUV's & Vans) and generally are rated at 3500 lb. tow capacity(empty). These tow vehicles would put me on the edge or slightly over the capacity.

Does anyone have experience towing a TM with a Toyota 4-runner(V6 or V8)?

I would appreciate any experienced user towing a 2720 model giving me there comments.

Thank you for the help,

Phil
Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 08:27 PM   #2
RogerR

I tow with a Jeep Liberty with the diesel engine. This gives me good mileage towing. My brother has a Dodge diesel pickup. Generally diesels get better mileage. In the past I used a Dodge Minivan with the 3.8 engine. It was close to maxed out. Check some other posts regarding GVW ratings and tow ratings. Make sure you have plenty of extra tow capacity for all the stuff you will haul inside the trailer and tow vehicle, don't forget the passenger weight! Best to be over capacity for safety.
Old 07-26-2009, 08:34 PM   #3
Wavery
TrailManor Master

Quote: