TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > How to and Modifications
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 11-08-2013, 11:33 AM   #1
bebotx

Default Wall mounted hands-free shower mod

Like many of us, I did the SirDrake shower mod that replaces the wrap-around curtain with plastic shower curtain lined walls on the bed and hall sides of the shower. I used a semi-opaque white plastic curtain from Walmart. What an improvement!

I would like to share my version of the hands-free shower head. I have been using this mod in various iterations for about 6 years, but this is my latest and best upgrade. Basically, it involves attaching the standard Trailmanor shower holder to the streetside wall with a flush mount bracket purchased at Lowe's.

First I trimmed the original polyester fabric shower curtain to neatly fit the shower after doing the plastic-lined-walls mod. The fabric curtain slightly turns the corner where the bed side wall meets the streetside wall. The fabric curtain continues across the streetside wall and around the open side of the shower, then turns the corner slightly to overlap the plastic-lined hall side shower wall. I trimmed the bottom of the curtain on all sides so it's not too long and is shorter where it meets the tub shelf.

I made a rectangular opening in the streetside of the fabric curtain for the faucet handles and shower sprayer to fit through, which I finished with a stitched-down facing using some of the leftover curtain trimmings. I made a smaller square finished opening further up the curtain to line up with where I mounted the bottom half of the flush mount bracket on the streetside wall. This second opening is a little bigger than the size of the flush mount bracket when both sides are mated.