TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Towing and Hitching
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 09-28-2010, 07:52 AM   #1
Debbie

Default Mirrors and/or backup camera

I am a newbie with a Trail Mini, towing with a Honda Odyssey. I am realizing that I cannot see behind the trailer when on the road and might need different mirrors and/or a camera. Any recommendations?
Thanks
Debbie
Old 09-28-2010, 10:47 AM   #2
ShrimpBurrito
Site Sponsor

Start with a pair of McKesh mirrors.
http://www.hensleymfg.com/mckeshmirrors.html

About ~$150, and they are the best out there. Once you get them setup the first time, it takes about 2-3 minutes to put them both on, and about 20 seconds to take them off.

That should give you enough coverage. If you still want more, then you can talk about wiring up a camera in the rear of the TM, but that's a bit more complicated and expensive endeavor. But it has been done.

I bought more convex mirrors as well, and wouldn't be without them.

Dave
ShrimpBurrito is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 11:52 AM   #3
brulaz

Dave, did you put convex mirrors on both sides?

I bought one with the McKeshs but have never put it on. With my truck's normal mirrors plus the McKeshs, everything seems pretty well covered.
Old 09-28-2010, 12:48 PM   #4
ShrimpBurrito
Site Sponsor

Yes, I put them on both sides. It gives me a clear unobstructed view down each side of the TV with ZERO blind spots. I can see all the way from the mirror to the end of the TM, even if a narrow object, like a motorcycle or bicycle, was riding close to me.

The view through my TV factory is partially obstructed by the McKesh, but even then, those mirrors provide a smaller field of view and have blind spots.