PDA

View Full Version : Leveling dual axles

JTurner
04-29-2007, 08:18 PM
I'm new to the tandem axles. Anyone have simple instructions for leveling? Do you have to level both wheels? Oh and what's the best chocking method?
Thanks in advance...

Freedom
04-29-2007, 09:08 PM
We had a regular travel trailer before that had tandem axles and we used a chock that looked like this: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/RV-Trailer-Camper-Fifth-Wheel-Chocks-Chatham-Chocks_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ50071QQihZ012QQi temZ220106058628QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW
They worked real well because they locked the wheels together. You only had to adjust them once and then when you put them in place and flipped the lever the wheels wouldn't move at all. You can even build some out of 4X4 s and a couple of long carriage bolts with wing nuts.

P.S. We use Lynx Blocks for leveling - you can buy them a Wal-Mart. Here's a picture: http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/rv-jacks/leveling-blocks-rv.htm?source=google

Paul_Heuvelhorst
04-29-2007, 10:31 PM
We had a regular travel trailer before that had tandem axles and we used a chock that looked like this: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/RV-Trailer-Camper-Fifth-Wheel-Chocks-Chatham-Chocks_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ50071QQihZ012QQi temZ220106058628QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW

Here's the chock we use: http://www.campingworld.com/browse/skus/index.cfm/Outdoor-and-RV-Accessories/Tow-Center-Of-America/Jacks--Leveling/Chocks--Levelers/Deluxe-Tire-Locking-Chock/skunum=11109.

We use Lynx Blocks for leveling. Here's a picture: http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/rv-jacks/leveling-blocks-rv.htm?source=google