PDA

View Full Version : Equalizers and Sway Bars

07-27-2001, 02:45 AM
Since I am new at this and am having a little trouble figuring out how to use this board, please forgive if this is not properly posted. My questions involve Hitches and Sway bars with a 3124. I would like to hear from some of you about the following: 1) Experiences with sway and fishtail in the case of panic stops? 2) How crucial are equalizers and sway bars? I am planning on towing with a full size Ford van with a 302 V8.
3) Is anyone familiar with the Hensley Arrow and does anyone have any experience using one? 4) A corollary of the previous question-Are they worth the cost, since they are very expensive(at least to me)? 5) Finally, if they are worth the cost, will they fit on a 3124KS, both in an open and a closed condition? :)

Paul_Heuvelhorst
07-27-2001, 06:19 PM
Hi G'pa,
You didn't tell us what year your E-series Ford is, or if it is an E150 or E250.  Since you refer to your V-8 as a 302, I'm assuming it is not a new van.

My 2001 Ford RV & Trailering guide says the new E150 will hold 500# on the hitch receiver of a factory installed tow package (does your's have that?).  The E150 with the 4.6L V-8 (about 220 HP) will tow 6600# when equipped with tow package and the 3.55 rear axle ratio.  The 5.4L V-8 (about 260 HP) will tow 7000# with the 3.55 rear axle ratio.

In my opinion, the Hensley Arrow is "overkill" for a TrailManor.  I considered one for our new 26' Tahoe Wide Lite and decided with the right tow vehicle and the right hitch I didn't need it... and this trailer is double the weight of the TraileManor you are considering.