PDA

View Full Version : Camping in Texas area?

greaves
08-26-2006, 07:44 AM
Hello, I have been watching this board for months. I finally purchased my TM. I pick up my 06 2619 which I will pull with my Honda Pilot on Wed. I am a bit nervous about towing as I have never done it before - any tricks I need to know? My two boys ages 6 and 9 and I will be week-end warriors till school gets out. Does anybody have any suggestions about places in TX or LA. Also, I have seen several guides about camping - Does anybody recommend one. I am new to this camping thing but am looking forward to some great memories. GM

wbmiller3
08-26-2006, 09:43 AM
Welcome, we are also Texas campers and frequent the state parks here. If you plan to visit the ones in East Texas be sure to call and check out how they are faring, many were damaged in last summer's hurricanes.

Texas_camper is right, we have the $60 pass and it is well worth it.

If you'd like to ask about a specific park or area of the state, just ask or send me a PM.

As far as towing goes. my 2 cents - be extra careful when passing or changing lanes, be sure you have good mirrors, always signal for lane changes and most folks will be pretty good about letting you over. Allow plenty of extra room between you and the vehicle in front, and don't try to make the yellow lights. Pick gas pumps and rest stations where you don't have to back up to get out. Don't go over 65 with the TM (tire restriction). Don't get in a hurry.

We love camping in our 2619, I hope you will as well.

TandemKids
08-26-2006, 04:08 PM
Greaves,