PDA

View Full Version : Which Trailmanor should I consider?

03-28-2002, 12:14 PM
Howdy all. I'm a newbie to all this so bear with the dumb questions. I own a 2000 Jeep Cherokee with the 4.0 Litre in-line 6 cylinder engine. It has the tow package installed and is rated by the manufacturer with a 5,000 lb. max towing capacity. All this info is meant to preface my inquiry. Having reviewed the information available on-line I've determined that the Trailmanor that most appeals to me is the 3023. I like this model because it gives me two permanent beds and a living room. Am I biting off more than I can chew tow wise if I buy that size trailer. Even adding 1,000 lbs. to the estimated dry weight of this model it still weighs in under 4K which leaves me a 20% margin on my rated capacity. Any input from experienced towers is appreciated ;D.

Paul_Heuvelhorst
03-28-2002, 03:39 PM
;D  If the 3023 has all the "goodies" you want, go for it.  We towed our 2619 initially with a Ford Aerostar 4.0L V-6, and all the factory tow goodies.

The primary drawback to a vehicle with a 4.0L engine (or smaller) is that you won't go "roaring" up mountain grades.  ::) The 6-7% grades going from Sacramento to Lake Tahoe usually slowed us to 40-45 mph in 3rd gear.  No bad, but you have to exercise caution when passing big rigs who may be going slower than you, then get back in the right-hand lane until you approach the next one... sometimes a little tedious.

Enjoy your new toy... once you get it!  ;)

03-28-2002, 03:46 PM
Thanks Paul. If you know what was the HP rating on that Ford V-6. Mine turns out 190HP and 215FP of torque.

Paul_Heuvelhorst
03-29-2002, 02:35 PM
??? Sorry, I don't know the HP of the V-6 engine. It was quite "gutsy" for a 6 cyl. engine, but I don't know the spec. We donated the van to our church almost 3 yrs ago when it had 143,000 miles on it and we upgraded to a V-8 (sales of high mileage used vehicles wasn't good in San Jose at that time).