PDA

View Full Version : Yet another "Is my current TV big enough?" question

ripides
02-24-2006, 03:20 PM
Like many, my wife and I are looking to get a TM. We have been considering the 3124KB. We would probably get the awning and air conditioning package as well. I am not sure what the total weight would be but the dry weight with out options is listed at 3090. Currently we have a 01 Ford Explorer Sport Trac which has a 4.0L V6 SOHC 12V FI Engine,and a tow rating of 5300lbs. Now I did learn the "new" math when I was in school so it looks like I would be ok. But I am new to this game and don't know what other considerations that I am missing.

ripp1202
02-25-2006, 06:28 AM
I tow a 3023 with a 1500 Dodge Quad cab 4.7 V8 eng. and it has the tow package. Does great on flat land , You have to keep checking to see if the trailer is there!! Went to Myrtle Beach SC. last spring and when I hit the mountains with 7% grade I could then tell that I was pulling a trailer !!!!!! and this truck is rated for 7000 lb towing cap. I would say that you are pushing it to the max with yours.The Rip :new_evil:

rgrant78
02-25-2006, 08:14 AM
This is an answer given to me by the expert on this site for towing. Ray knows it all. I asked him a similar question as I have a sport trac and am looking for a trailmanor. Hope this helps.

Hi Ryan...