PDA

View Full Version : Battery equalization

MarkoPolo
06-05-2013, 03:48 PM
I have had my 2922KD set up in my yard for about a month and noticed that the charge reading had dropped one light to good, not full. So I spent some time making sure tree branches were cleared above the solar panel and then did the "unthinkable" for guys, read the instructions! It turns out that the Samlex 4 stage controller will either manually or on a set schedule, equalize the battery. I go tho the TM to manually equalize and see that this has been set to a 28 day cycle, was completing it and now I have full charge.
Since I am new to solar panels, I thought this was pretty neat and wondered if this is a common procedure needed on all batteries that are solar charged. Because this does keep the battery on a more even charge level, I also am wondering what the life span for this 27C battery would be and what maintenance should be done.

Mark

ZekenSpider
06-05-2013, 07:11 PM
Mark;

Battery charging and long term maintenance is a somewhat complex problem. It has more to do with the charging controller rather than whether it is a solar charger or not.

Take good look at this site and specifically the battery charging information;

<http://www.solar-electric.com/deep-cycle-battery-faq.html#Battery%20Charging>

Your solar controller may or may not be doing a good job.

Jerry

scrubjaysnest
11-25-2014, 04:51 PM
Solar charge controllers (cc) typical have a 28 day cycle to equalize. On some this adjustable. Some also come with a manual over ride. Typical CC equalize voltage should be around 15 volts; varies with battery manufactures.

The charge status lights on the panel that shows gray water and fresh water level are only ball park.