PDA

View Full Version : camp ground guides

CC_Turtle
08-11-2003, 02:24 PM
Hello,

what campground guides do you all use? I am very new at camping with a TM and am not sure how to find the best places to use it in southern california.. what resource do you like the best.. i need info about dogs, ammenities, etc... thanks!

08-11-2003, 04:11 PM
I use the Woodall's Campground Directory, and word of mouth. :)
Red

CC_Turtle
08-12-2003, 07:28 AM
thanks.. i will check out yahoos.. we mostly camp... and since we are new at having a trailer.. we camp somewhat close to home :) until i can get used to pulling the trailer.

thanks again,
teresa

Windbreaker
08-12-2003, 10:21 AM
Ditto Texas, mostly.

I use the Good Sam's guide and have found it truthful. Just make sure you know how to read it.

Now for the mostly. Some times it is hard for me to understand what someone is trying to tell me about a place. Once a guy said the road to it takes a little getting use to. Translation, plan on driving that last 50 miles at 30 mph. Another time the guy said I never used the showers there, translation - if you do you will die from some little know, very painful disease - most likely rot slowly from the outside inward.

If you can hear what folks are really saying you'll do fine but if you are like me, work on your understanding skills.

efelker
08-12-2003, 12:06 PM
Windy:

I hear you... I'm from the PA Dutch area. When you'd ask an old farmer for directions they'd usually say, "Oh, it's don the rood a piece." Translation: Drive down this road about 40 miles further.

Happytrails
08-12-2003, 03:53 PM