TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Electrical
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 06-05-2008, 03:39 PM   #1
SCBillandJane

Default Gps

Does anyone have GPS recommendations. I have always relied on maps, but with a Trailmanor hitched up, it is more difficult to turn around if you miss your turn. Has a GPS really helped you? What should I look for?
SCBillandJane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 06:24 PM   #2
countrygirl
TrailManor Master

I got one for Christmas and it is really handy.. I am NOT an expert on them though. I looked at TomToms and really liked a LOT of their features but people kept warning me not to get a TomTom. I got a Garmin and it is really easy to use. There are several other brands as well. Some people use a lap top and get a GPS program for it. I have even seen where some people built a holder for their laptop to sit on the center console of their tow vehicle. If you have a lot of room in your tow vehicle this may be a possibility.

I did not like the way my Garmin attached to the window so I bought a little sandbag type holder for it and love that I can place it anywhere on the dash board.

My son has a Magellan GPS and loves his.

Keep in mind ...roads change...there is construction on roadways...new off ramps etc. so you want to be able to update it on line as needed.

I have read...they are an attraction for theives and never leave mine in my vehicle...it is big enough to see but small enough to slip into a purse or pocket...mostly though I listen to mine for directions. Some people say they are not 100 per cent accurate and they also do not always give you the shortest route to your destination.

We replaced the tires on the TM July 2017 I will update when I have time to get the specs

What's new...we went to all LED lighting and love them.

New 3/25/16 two new horizontal propane tanks.
countrygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 07:24 PM   #3