TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Owners Community > General TrailManor Topics
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 07-02-2014, 09:13 AM   #1
RottieMom
TrailManor Master

Default Newbie questions

Since I'm a newbie and haven't taken my TM on a trip yet (but I will in 3 wks), I'm trying to gleen all the info I can from the postings of experienced TM owners on this site.

I've discovered that I was rather naive to think if I can just get the trailer hitched to the truck and be able to open and close the trailer by myself, I'd be all set for my first trip with it. BTW, I was able to open and close the trailer by myself and back it into my garage... yea!

I'm now planning to go buy some things this weekend, like a multimeter (although still not entirely sure what I'll do with it), extra cordless drill and 3/4" socket for raising/lowering stabilizer jacks, foldable lug wrench, over the door towel hanger, small tube of white grease for hitch ball, Thetford Aqua Kem (I have a cassette toilet), and so on.

I had already purchased a few things, such as longer ball mount so I can open my truck tail gate without whacking the electric hitch, some wheel chocks and leveling blocks, white hose and regulator, and a hitch lock. And, I already have quite a few tools, level, etc.

So, now to the questions part...
1) Do I actually have both scissor jacks and stabilizer jacks or are those terms used synonymiously?
2) Where are the fuses? And, what spare fuses to I need to take with me? And, where can I buy them?
3) For a State Park site with electricity (for 30amp), do I really have to check the voltage before I plug in? And, do I have to turn off the circuit breaker for the outlet, plug in, then turn on the circuit breaker?
4) Do I really need to check the lug nuts ever so many miles and how do you know whether they're "tight enough"? If I can't tighten them any further?