TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Camping & Lifestyle > Camping Stories
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 03-10-2014, 09:46 AM   #1
woodlandcottage
Site Sponsor

Default Overnight shake-down

Is shake-down the right term? My ex-military husband isn't around right now to ask. Anyway, we took our 1 week old, new to us, 2005 2619 on our first overnight this weekend. Here are some of my thoughts and highlights as complete newbies to RV or pop-up camping(and very limited tent camping experience 15 years ago)

The TM is very intuitive as far as systems go. Neither one of myself or DH is very handy, but we were able to get all the systems and hook-ups working correctly on the first or second try with a few references to the TM instructions book. Well, except that stinking oven pilot light. Took 6 or 7 tries each time for that thermocouple thingy to hold the light. As hubby was hooking up the water, I was glad I was inside the camper to turn off all the faucets that started spraying wildly simultaneously. But when hubby came back inside the camper were a bit perplexed as to where that gushing water sound was coming from. Then we remembered the outside shower! Forgot the dealer had it winterized with all the faucets on full. :P
We got the last campsite with full hook-ups at Cherry Creek State Park, CO. Felt a bit sorry for the trailer that pulled in right after us. It was a back-in site but hubby did a wonderful job. Had a family of deer watch us set up. Snow on the ground and overnight temp of upper 20*s. We used a portable electric heater instead of propane although the propane furnace works great. We didn't see any of the park really since we got there at 3pm or so and it was pretty chilly. I'm a person who loves the bleak look of winter scenes but CRSP in winter is incredibly depressing looking. It's a sea of beige and very light gray beige. It almost hurts to look at the scenery because it's so monochromatic.