TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Plumbing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 04-19-2018, 09:27 PM   #1
Davis Ezell

Default Thetford recirculating model 80

my inline fuse keeps blowing, is it the pump motor???
Davis Ezell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 09:39 PM   #2
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine

Thetford suggests that you replace the 5 amp fuse with a 7.5 amp fuse.

Bill
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 04:46 PM   #3
JimAdkins

Hey Bill, I'm still new to TrailManors, and we are having a similar issue. We purchased ours used, and the toilet worked once, but now just blows fuses. I've looked around Thetford's website and can't find anything saying to use a 7.5 amp fuse. Do you happen to have a link to where you found this info?

Thanks! -Jim

Edit: oh, FYI, our's is just a Electa Magic 12V, and doesn't appear to be an "80." The number on the front is 35831.
JimAdkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 07:27 PM   #4
Bill
Site Team

Jim -

I'm looking for the link. In the meantime, I suggest you pull the pump and make sure that it rotates smoothly and easily, and is not bound up in some way. To pull the pump, remove the tower cover at the back of the toilet - two big Phillips screws, as I recall. The pump motor is enclosed in a black rubber hood. Pull it up and out, being careful not to lose the white nylon motor coupling. Can you rotate the shaft easily by hand? Operate the motor while it is pulled out. Does it still blow the fuse?

Thetford's internal name for the Electra Magic Model 80 is 35831.

Let us know.

Bill
Old 05-28-2018, 09:29 PM   #5
JimAdkins

Thanks much for the reply Bill.