TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Owners Community > Prospective Owner Questions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 02-02-2007, 07:38 AM   #1
JHill23

Default 1993 2518

Hello,
I have been looking at TM for a while now, and found this forum. Lots of great information on what seems to be a great TT. I am new to camping, never really been much, except as a kid. I am looking at a purchasing a 1993 2518. TM don't make them anymore. I guess I just don't want to spend the money for a new one until I know that camping is something that we will enjoy. So my question is: Is there anything with buying a used TM this old, that I might want to watch out for? Are they prone to leak? Any information on the older ones is very appreciated. I talked to the dealer about it, and of coarse he says that is in great condition. But I feel that other owners would be more honest.

Thanks so much for any help.
John in Florence, MS
Old 02-02-2007, 10:28 AM   #2
Bill
Site Team

Location: The mountains of Scottsdale, AZ, and the beaches of Maine

Like most trailers of this vintage, the walls in the old TMs were built with wood frames. No problem with that - unless the walls leaked and water got inside and rotted the wood. This happened only occasionally, but when it did, it was a serious problem, so you need to look for it.

Are there any water stains on the inside walls? If so, bad sign.

Run around the inside and the outside, and look at all the screws that are screwed into the walls. Tug on them. Do they pull out easily, or are they tight? If loose, the underlying wood may be rotted.

Several years ago, one of the board's members (he went by the name HappyTrails) rebuilt the walls in his TM to replace rotted wood. He did a very nice job, but it was a real challenge. He documented it all on his web site

http://members.aol.com/br768/