TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Plumbing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 08-31-2008, 12:21 PM   #1
Alrhall

Default Has anyone changed their own gray water tank?

I blew a tire and tore up the plumbing. Being an engineer I can't simply patch the torn tank where the drain comes out. I bought a new tank. Actually I bought the "Tire tore out the plumbing" kit from the factory. Tank with drain line flange installed, Valves, Pipe, Elbows and 2 more flanges. It did not come with instructions.
I just got the old tank out. I SHOULD HAVE PATCHED THE OLD TANK.
There are two flange type fittings glued to the top of the tank. I tore them loose when I removed the tank. I think one is from the sinks and the other from the tub. I hope I didn't damage the tub.
How do I gain access from above to glue the new fittings in?
Is there a work around? Foam seals?
HELP!
Old 08-31-2008, 09:47 PM   #2
Mr. Adventure
TrailManor Master

Default We DO have a lot of engineers in this forum.

I make this suggestion without a clear mental picture of the fittings you're working with, in the spirit of offering some encouragement.

I had freezing damage once on a trailer's drain manifold with ABS plastic fittings. It was going to be a huge pain to tear them all out to replace about 2" in the middle, so I just goobered (technical term) ABS glue on the crack and it worked perfectly.

You have the same thing going for you in this application: the water is not under much pressure. You also have one additional asset that I didn't have: "Heck, it's only gray water, so a few drips from a leak under the middle of the trailer might be an adventure, but it's probably not an EPA reportable event."
Prodigy brake controller.

"It's not how fast you can go, it's how fast you can stop an RV that counts."
Mr. Adventure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 05:19 PM   #3
Northwoods
Site Sponsor