TrailManor Owner's Forum  

Go Back   TrailManor Owner's Forum > TrailManor Technical Discussions > Solar Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 11-29-2014, 01:27 PM   #1
Skyjim73

Default My funky power system build

We should take delivery of our new 3124KB in February, and I've begun acquiring the major hardware for the solar charging system. Since I'm going slightly against the grain with a few of my choices, I'll list what I'm using and then once we get some experience with the system next year, let any interested forum members know if my system is working for us or if my theories have crashed and burned...

We'll hopefully be all over North America, but we do a lot of dry camping in the desert southwest. I am a pretty serious amateur astronomer, so I like to go to fairly isolated places for dark skies. My wife enjoys many of the national park campgrounds when we do "normal' camping, and at least in the western states most campgrounds in the parks lack hookups. I have a Honda EU-2000 we've used with our old hard-side trailer, which had four 6V golf cart batteries and a 2KW Heart inverter-charger with a 100 amp four stage charger. I've gotten used to managing my battery bank, doing regular equalization charges, and so forth, and my last set of Trojan T-105s lasted 8 years. But one thing we learned was that we really did not use the AC power capability except for stuff like wall chargers that a tiny, cheap inverter could have handled. But having a good DC charging system is a must for me.