PDA

View Full Version : Dry Camping and charging the house Battery?

06-10-2002, 02:10 PM
I am new to the RV world, and even newer to the TrailManor world. I just purchased a '98 2720SL last week.

If the tread had not seperated from the tire when the dealer was delivering it and did a bit of damage, I would already have my TM.

My question is, when I am dry camping and my house battery is getting low what are my options for charging?

Is there any reason I cannot just connect the TMs wiring harness to my tow vehicle and start it up to charge the house battery?

If my understanding was correct the House Battery does recieve a charge from the tow vehicle when connected.

I already have a remote starter on my vehicle that will allow my vehicle to run without keys, but cannot be driven or moved without the keys. In addition, I can set my remote starter to run for a set amount of time, and then shut off automaticly.

I don't plan on doing much dry camping, so I don't want to buy or haul a generator I will barely ever use.

Dave

06-11-2002, 10:44 AM
d,

When using a straightforward trailer wiring your batteries will be normally in parallel.

you can charge your trailer battery from the vehicle although at idle your charging current will be a function of what your alternator can put out at idle -- but your wiring will probably be limiting anyhow.  Figure if you can get 30 amps continous into the battery, it would take about an hour to charge a half-discharged battery.

06-11-2002, 01:00 PM
We just run a plug from the trailer harness to a heavy cigar. lighter plug in the truck.  Truck recharges the next day while driving.  Have never run house battery dead using this method.

Happytrails
06-11-2002, 04:05 PM